Letting go, dads are human too

This was me and my dad, I realized yesterday he really didnt get his life together any sooner than I did (40s) and it took finding the desire to change and then finding someone he considered worth striving to be his best for.  The same can be said for me.
Sadly I was an adult before he did become stable and years of being an on again, off again part of his life while he was on his own personal roller coaster of crazy was hard to deal with.
A child of abuse he never abused us but he also didnt really know how to put other people first until both my brother and I were adults.
He wasn’t a bad man by any means, he was a frail human with many of my own issues and realizing that and freeing myself from resentment even before his death has helped me become a better person

Leave a Reply

