Great deals today, tofu and quinoa

Trying to totally revamp our diet, I worry about both of our health and Alex has agreed to get behind my plan wholeheartedly which is helpful because now I don’t have to sneak healthy food into his meals 🙂
It isn’t cheap, but neither is being sick or loss of productivity from lack of energy, so I love getting deals.
When our housemate moved this week he gave me half a gallon of Quinoa and a Seal a Meal, 2 things I intend to put to good use.
This morning I got 2 pounds of zucchini and 4 one pound packages of firm tofu for $5.87 after tax. I haven’t cooked much with tofu, mostly using silken in sauces and desserts but I figure at $1.09 a pound I can experiment with firm tofu .  I also found out that you can freeze tofu and that the longer it freezes the denser it gets until it is more meat like.
Last night I made 2 quinoa dishes, the first in the crockpot and the second baked.
For the crockpot recipe layer in this order… a can of beef broth, a can of water, a can full of dry quinoa, seasonings to taste, a can each of kidney beans and pinto beans well rinsed, a sliced onion, a diced pepper, and a cup of roasted tomatoes.  Cook on high 2 hours.
I took half of it and added some jambalaya I made for Mardi Gras and froze so it has spicy sausage, chicken and shrimp in a spicy tomato base.
The baked dish could easily use the crockpot dish as a base but I didn’t want to wait so I cooked a cup of quinoa like rice (1 cup quinoa, 2 cups water, bring to a covered boil and reduce to a slow simmer for 15 minutes) I diced little bell peppers and carrots super fine and tossed them in to the quinoa for the last 10 minutes.
I baked some salmon (about a pound) with just a little Lawry’s seasoning on it and dumped 4 oz of precooked frozen salad shrimp into the hot mix along with the flaked salmon and added 6 eggs and baked it at 350° for 25 mins.

The first package of tofu is marinating in homemade plum sauce (the reduced plums from plum butter, soy sauce and Thai sweet pepper sauce with a little water) and I will try baking half at 350° and roasting half at 425°

Leave a Reply

