Spicy get-better soup recipe

Just made a crockpot of spicy “get better” soup.
Baked 6 chicken thighs(8-10 would have been better but I would have had to dig in the freezer so yeah, 6 it was), skinned then then allowed the meat to cool in the fridge
I added the juices and liquid fat from the chicken to 3 medium thinly sliced onions and garlic in a fry pan and 1 cup of water and reduced it on medium for 40 mins, adding water as needed.
I poured 2 cans of chicken broth, 1 can of diced tomatoes and a small can of tomato sauce into the crockpot with a cup of water and a cup of medium salsa and the shredded chicken in to the crockpot.
After the onions reduced I poured them into the crock and cut up 3 more onions and added a few cups of the liquid from the soup and reduced them again (hey they are yummy and I don’t have a deep pan)
This thickened the broth and I sprinkled it with cajun seasonings and finally added 2 cups of thinly sliced frozen green peppers and 1 cup of celery and simmered it 20 more minutes(what can I say? I can’t pass up great sales and I have a big freezer) I added a tiny dash of curry powder and stirred it up
Finally I poured it all in the crockpot and mixed it up then ate a bowl full.
It is very thick, sort of spicy and full of stuff that is good for you.

Leave a Reply

