Cooking for the holidays

I am not making sweets this year but I am hosting a new years eve party and decided to do appetizers so I have made a bunch of freeze ahead ones.
I got an amazing deal ($1 a pound) on all natural sausage after Thanksgiving and made sausage cheese balls as well as tiny sausage cheese muffins, gluten free beef meatballs and little mini muffin sized pumpkin spice and apple spice cupcakes.  I also stuffed a bunch of mushrooms and today made a dozen vegetarian pecan and green onion stuffed mushrooms and I will end up making mini quiches.
I am loving my mini muffin pans, I have two big 24 counts and one 12 count so 5 dozen at a time. 
The recipe for the sausage balls couldn’t be easier,
1 pound of raw sausage
1 egg
1 cup of bread crumbs
1 cup of baking mix
1/2 a cup of milk
2 cups of shredded cheese
Mix the first 5 ingredients together then add the cheese and mix it in (it is easier to mix in 2  stages)
Either make meatballs or spoon into mini muffin tin and cook at 375° for 20-25 mins
Freeze on a cookie sheet then put in a zip lock and heat as needed.

Stuffed mushrooms are easy and nearly anything can go in them, the but ones are just 3 oz of diced pecans, one 8oz brick of warmed cream cheese, 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan and finely diced green onions and the stems of the mushrooms, put the mushroom caps in the mini muffin pan and stuff the freeze and bag.  Bake frozen for 25-30 mins at 350°

I am also making a spread of cooked and ground sausage with peppers, onions and mushrooms heated then I am adding mozzarella cheese and cream cheese and spooning it on to slices of fresh bell peppers (for gluten free) and on open faced mini buns that have been buttered and grilled.

I got some gluten free/msg free apple chicken sausages so I am going to bake them then slice them and bake chunks of granny smith apples and skewer them then quickly grill them just enough to sear them
The other skewer snack is caprese salad skewers, grape tomatoes, mozzarella cheese layered on small skewers and a basil infused basalmic vinegrete reduction (1 cup vinegar, 1/3 cup brown sugar with a little finely ground basil in it then simmered down by half)
When I cook or heat and plate everything I will post pics!

Leave a Reply

