Homemade chili sauce

Well sort of, more like home mixed chili sauce substitute.

2 cups ketchup
3 tbsp lemon or lime juice
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
Add to taste …
Tony Chachere’s Cajun seasoning powder
Chili powder
Garlic powder
Onion powder
Pumpkin pie spice (just a dash)

Put it all in a sauce pan on low for 20 mins then allow to cool to really combine the flavors and then put in a clean bottle in the fridge, for best results mix this a day before you need it.

I am using it in sweet and sour meatballs for my birthday

In a large sauce pan mix over medium heat add:
1 large bottle of Grape Jelly
Equal amount of the above recipe
(I like to add 1 cup of water when I warm them)
Then pour over meatballs in a crockpot and warm.
I put them over frozen meatballs 4 to 5 hours before serving them to really let them get the taste as they thaw and heat up.

BTW, I won’t be eating these because the meatballs are purchased and have breadcrumbs. I have a small batch of GF meatballs I made and I am going to use just the chili sauce on them

Leave a Reply

