Selfie vs self portrait is there a difference?

the only self portrait I took is my current profile pics on Facebook and Twitter

image

Facebook pic

image

Twitter pic

The thing is they had nothing to do with vanity really and more with self acceptance.
I had just spent a month not wanting to see pictures of my changing face, all my pictures felt like lies, they were not how I look now.
So with little make up on I took 5 photos, the first 2 did not work because of having half my face cut out and the other two poses were in different light so I ended up with just 2 photos in focus.
So I posted the photos to say to myself and others, “I am going to accept that this is ME, bumps, wrinkles and hollow cheeks, this is who I am now, you can like it or not.”
And even then I felt so disconnected from how I look I altered the image as if it was a ghost, but that is part of my accepting that I am far from perfect.
The problem came from me not mentioning this to others and a very nice friend thought she would do me a favor and “pretty up” my Facebook photo, smoothing out the wrinkles, bumps and hollow cheeks I was trying to accept.
And sadly for my already damaged self esteem I am sure you can guess what photo got raves.
So no not every self taken picture is a selfie (cry for attention) some are just “what do you think of this hair color/cut/makeup or eyeglasses” some are just because you need a profile pic that looks decent in such a small format and some are “this is who I am, no pout, no chin adjustments, no forced cleavage, just me”
Also I don’t begrudge the occasional desire to be told “hey nice pic” but if the picture didn’t look like me because of angle, alteration or expression I would not feel complimented but instead I would wonder why I wasn’t ok as is.

Leave a Reply

