Pain meds

And now we start the hard core reduction of pain meds, I was taking 50Mg tramadol every 4 hours and 100mg 2 times during the night, I am down to half of that now and I take 1000mg of tylenol at 5 and 9am (on either side of my work out) and 500mg of tylenol at 1 and 5pm and none at night.
I want off the pain meds but I feel like such a wimp, I hurt so I have to force myself to just move and I want sweets so bad because of the pain but I think it might actually be making that worse.
My goal is to be off of everything other than 500mg of tylenol 6 times a day and 5mg of Valium at night by the 4th of June.

One thought on “Pain meds

  1. lauramacky says:

    I totally know what it’s like trying to reduce pain meds. My question for you is…why did they reduce you to tylenol from tramadol? I went from tramadol to percocet. I think I didn’t stop taking percocet 3x/daily until maybe around the 2-1/2 month mark? I have a graph on my blog that shows the reduction in pain meds. It’s in this post: http://lauramacky.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/five-month-report/

    It’s good to have goals to reduce the medications too! We can become dependent on those darn things. Plus, I don’t know about you, but they gave me the worst crying episodes.

    Good job recognizing the need for reduction, but don’t be too hard on yourself. The pain meds are there for a reason. It’s always a balancing act figuring out the right amount of activity vs. pain meds at first. HUGS!

Leave a Reply

