Bread pudding for a wedding cake?? Hell Yes!!!! How about a rice crispy cake too while your at it (recipes)

So I am not a great baker, I dont like following recipes but I make a killer bread pudding from whatever I have on hand and I have been making it for Alex for a while now and it is sort of special to us.  To me it is the combining of all kinds of odd things to make something that may not look very pretty but is YUMMY and good.

My Mom ordered us a really nice 1/4 sheet Chocolate cake with Bavarian cream filling and white buttercream frosting with black piping around the edges (similar to the one we had at the engagement party but half the size) and I was thinking of buying two smaller round double layer cakes in whatever flavors they had in the store when we went to pick up the 1/4 sheet but then I decided to make something special to us.

I came up with a recipe for Italian bread pudding that is nom, though Alex really prefers my more classic Apple bread pudding so I will be making that in a little fluted pan for the “bread and Ale” part of the ceremony instead of the Welsh Honey cake I have been worried I would mess up.  I am also going to follow a friends footsteps and do a rice crispy “wedding cake” with 3 little tiers and red, purple and blue shiny sprinkles all over it.

A friend gave us a great wrought iron spiderweb shaped double-decker cake holder that should hold both cakes perfectly since neither of them will be HUGE

On to the recipes (please remember I made these up so if you ever try to make them feel free to monkey with the ingredients and proportions)

Bread Pudding (basic recipe)

Heat over to 350*F

whip 6-8 eggs and 1/2 a cup of milk up in a large mixing bowl (you can use more or less depending on if you want a dryer or more cake like pudding, for one loaf of bread I add 6 to 8 eggs depending on how dense I want the breadpudding to be and the eggs are the protein so I dont really go lightly on them)

add a pound or so of whatever bread you have shredded to the bowl (I love making this with honey wheat berry bread – I dont use dry bread for this but it is a good use for ends of loaves that may not be totally fresh, just toss them in the freezer to save up til you have enough – I personally like bigger chunks of bread <1.5×1.5 in or so> for a chunky pudding but tiny shreds or softer bread will give you a denser smoother bread pudding that is more cake like.

in a microwave safe bowl melt a sliced up stick of butter, a cup of sugar and microwave til melted 20 seconds at a time (white or brown sugar works just as well… you can use honey if you want) and then pour over the bread, egg, milk mixture

Stir it up til the bread is totally coated (the longer you let it sit -say 10 mins in the fridge- the more teh bread soaks up the moisture and the denser your pudding will be)

Place the mix in a well greased baking pan and bake until you can insert a knife in it and it comes back clean, this takes anywhere from 20 to 40 mins depending on the thickness and your pan

You can add chopped fruit, raisins and/or nuts to it before baking as well

The top will brown nicely and some spots may get a little crispy but you can pick them off if you choose

The Apple bread pudding is the same as the basic but I add 1/2 cup applesauce and take out 1/4 cup milk and you can add diced apples and raisins as well and a little pie spice mix

T’Rina’s Large Italian Wedding bread pudding

this is a BIG batch

8-10 eggs and 1/2 a cup of milk whipped in a large mixing bowl

shred 1/2 a loaf of honey wheat berry bread very small and a whole loaf of a soft honey wheat bread to medium sized chunks

in microwaveable bowl add 1/2 a cup of sugar, 1 1/2 sticks of butter (sliced) 6 oz of orange marmalade and microwave til melted stirring every 20 seconds

pour over the bread, egg, milk mixture then add 1 cup of shredded almonds, a tablespoon of almond extract and 2 oz of vanilla syrup (sub for 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract) and a little pie spice and stir well.

put the mixture in the fridge for 20 mins while you grease a large pan and to get it out in one piece I line the pan in parchment paper

pour the mixture into the baking pan and bake at 350*f for 20 mins then begin checking for doneness.

I then make a glaze for the top with OJ:

1 cup powdered sugar and 1 tablespoon OJ concentrate mixed

The rice crispy cake is just a basic rice crispy recipe (with baking sprinkles added and then dusted on top)  made in a regular round cake pan, a medium sized cake pan and a small fluted cake pan then some melted marshmallows hold it together… I like lots of marshmallow in my treats so I will have to find a middle ground between gooey and able to hold its shape but I do know making them the night before will help

NOTE these are not weight loss friendly recipes, I only intend to have a few bites of each but I hope everyone else loves them also

Leave a Reply

