Prepping another altered book/art journal

I am turning a book called DEAD WEIRD by Jim Hewitson into an altered book/art journal.  I got it for a few bucks at Barnes and Noble and bought it to alter it since I liked the size…. 277 pages and 7.7 x 6.3 x 1.1 inches.  Some of the pages I have glued in draewing/sketch paper and others I have glued together and gessoed. 

The book is all about death and funerary things in Scotland and so I have been very careful to pick and choose the pages I leave exposed so I can use some of the quotes and images in my art as well as some of the entires for found poetry.  I went to Mulligan’s a bar in Downtown Boise and as I often do pulled out my art supplies including the 4 small glue sticks I brought and over and hour and a half used all 4 to setup s bunch of pages to get them ready to gesso, also going to do some stuff with colored tissue I think.

The nice thing about this book as opposed to my Atlas is it is about 1/4 the size of the big book and I can carry it in my art bag or backpack.

One thought on “Prepping another altered book/art journal

  1. amy says:

    That sounds like a great book to alter. I got a book recently for the cover and now think I should check to make sure it’s not worth 40.00 or something because it’s from 1946. Be sure to show the pages. I found you via the art journal group. 🙂

Leave a Reply

